Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (35) - TV Shows (24) - Books (2)

Savannah Smiles review

Posted : 5 years, 1 month ago on 3 July 2012 08:24 (A review of Savannah Smiles)

Just watched this childhood favourite again and it's still just as good as I remembered.

The young daughter of a politician, Savannah, runs away due to lack of attention in her life. Her father is busy with his career, sucking up to all the big shots, while her mother is busy trying to please her husband and all the people that her husband constantly brings home.

Savannah writes a note to her parents, telling them that she's running away from home, but they never find it. She hides in the car of two not too bright crooks, who are slowly converted into parent figures, after spending a few days with the adorable little girl.

Savannah really captures my heart in this movie. It's a great example of how a child in the midst of all of grownup reality, can see the innocent, carefree goodness of life and share it with everyone around her.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Men Who Stare at Goats review

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 17 June 2012 03:16 (A review of The Men Who Stare at Goats)

The advert for it looked a bit strange, but I finally decided to get it and glad I did. The first time I watched it, I stopped it about halfway because I was yawning so much with bordem. The second time I watched it, I managed to watch it from start to finish and actually really liked it.

Jedi psychic soliders that love to dance seems a bit strange and really out there, but the way that Ewan McGregor's character narates the story actually makes it worth watching.

The animal testing seems a bit odd too, especially the forcing kittens to inhale cigarette smoke part, but it's a pretty decent film.

If you liked 'Burn After Reading', you'll like this too.

Best Line:
"That's a lie."
"That... well the hooker thing is definitely a lie."


0 comments, Reply to this entry

It's Complicated review

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 16 June 2012 06:20 (A review of It's Complicated)

I love this movie. It's not just another romantic comedy that ends typically, which is one of the reasons why I love it so much. Right from the beginning you can sense the tension between Jane and Jake, especially Agness thrown into the mix.

Meryl Streep is still one of the best actresses, and she proves it in this movie over and over again. Right from the start she gives us the full picture of her characters relationship with ex-husband.

Her relationship with her kids pretty much gives her a free pass on the infidelity angle, as she's a great mother and a really loveable character.

I love that it doesn't wrap everything up nice and neatly in the end either. Nancy Meyer's has definitely out done herself on this one.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Life as We Know It review

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 16 June 2012 06:04 (A review of Life as We Know It)

There are a few things about this movie that are really annoying. The first being the fact that we don't get to know the parents of baby Sophie very well, so we as the audience don't feel anything when they're suddenly gone.

Second thing is Holly and Messer's shock to being guardians of their baby. For Sophie's first birthday party, the parents ask if they can take a picture of their baby with her 'GOD parents', which just about everyone knows is the people who take care of the children if something happens to their parents.
Surely being named god parents is a big clue there, but it doesn't click for either of them.

I was quite looking forward to watching a romantic comedy with Katherine Heigl and Josh Duhamel, but it wasn't as good as I was expecting it to be.
It follows the plot of most romantic comedies with two characters who either don't know each other or hate each other, work through a crisis, no real surprises, because you know it'll all work out in the end... a little predictable.

The comedy pretty much revolved around the baby half the time, which makes you think if the baby wasn't in it, it would be really boring. I love the neighbourhood watch gang too, they're hilarious. But Heigl and Duhamel were a little disappointing.

Overall a 7/10 because it could have been a lot better.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Family Of Secrets review

Posted : 5 years, 8 months ago on 29 November 2011 12:04 (A review of Family Of Secrets)

Life never quite turns out how you expect it to.You never expect to lose someone you're close to, you never expect your family to lie to you about anything and you certainly never expect that one day everything you ever wanted is suddenly going to be forced upon on you and there's nothing you can do to stop it.Follow Joey and Micky's journey through their adult life, surviving break ups, lies and hidden truths that no would have ever expected to be true!
WARNING for Homosexual theme.
M/M SLASH relationship. Not for minors!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Punisher review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 9 September 2011 02:15 (A review of The Punisher)

FBI Special agent Frank Castle had it all, a loving family, a great life, and an adventurous job. But when his life is taken away from him by a ruthless criminal and his associates, Frank has become reborn.

Now serving as judge, jury, and executioner, he's a new kind of vigilante out to wage a one man war against those who have done him wrong.

It's a pretty good film. Lot's of blood, gore, violence, and fast paced action, but you can easily tell it's right out of a comic, as nothing is real. Don't get me wrong, I love it, but there's just a few things that annoyed me.

The first one is that after fighting the russian, Frank is all beat up, barely able to stand, so they hide him in the elevator thing, while Dave and the tubby guy stay in his apartment. Once the bad guys have left, Frank is suddenly wide awake and able to walk again, barely affected by any of the damage he just took.

The second is near the end, after Mr Saint just killed his best friend and wife, he goes to the club, offering $50 thousand to whoever kills Frank for him. What I don't get is why they all suddenly start drinking champagne and hanging round at the club as if they're celebrating something, giving the Punisher the opertunity to kill them all.

The rest of it is great and Thomas Jane is a great actor, perfect for this role.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Babysitters review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 8 September 2011 12:18 (A review of The Babysitters)

A teenager turns her babysitting service into a call-girl service for married guys after fooling around with one of her customers.
Hard to believe that the main character was ever a virgin at the beginning of the movie, but it's a really good film, very touching and thought provoking.
For teenage girls, the acting was actually really good, not the usual princesses with no facial expressions that you see a lot of these days.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Casper: A Spirited Beginning review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 4 September 2011 10:13 (A review of Casper: A Spirited Beginning)

Casper tells the story of how he became such a good-natured ghost.

No where near as good as the first one, has a certain lameness to it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Big Business review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 4 September 2011 12:07 (A review of Big Business)

In the 1940s in the small town of Jupiter Hollow, two sets of identical twins are born in the same hospital on the same night. One set to a poor local family and the other to a rich family just passing through. The dizzy nurse on duty accidentally mixes the twins unbeknown to the parents.

Our story flashes forward to the 1980s where the mismatched sets of twins are about to cross paths following a big business deal to closedown the Jupiter Hollow factory.

Very funny movie of twins switched at birth. Every moment of this film is just hilarious. I would definetly watch it again and recommend to a friend!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Brokeback Mountain review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 3 September 2011 03:20 (A review of Brokeback Mountain)

The story of a forbidden and secretive relationship between two cowboys and their lives over the years.

A raw, powerful story of two young men, a Wyoming ranch hand and a rodeo cowboy, who meet in the summer of 1963 sheepherding in the harsh, high grasslands of contemporary Wyoming and form an unorthodox yet life-long bond--by turns ecstatic, bitter and conflicted.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 3 4 5 6 7 Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block