Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (35) - TV Shows (24) - Books (2)

I Am Sam review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 3 September 2011 03:14 (A review of I Am Sam)

A mentally retarded man fights for custody of his 7-year-old daughter, and in the process teaches his cold-hearted lawyer the value of love and family.

A great story, of a really sad tale of a mentally retarded father trying to keep his daughter. Made me cry at a few points, as its so real.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Turner & Hooch review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 3 September 2011 03:08 (A review of Turner & Hooch)

Scott Turner has 3 days left in the local police department before he moves to a bigger city to get some "real" cases, not just misdemeanors. Then Amos Reed is murdered, and Scott Turner sets himself on the case. The closest thing to a witness in the case is Amos Reed's dog, Hooch, which Scott Turner has to take care of if it's going to avoid being "put to sleep".

I love this movie. It was made the year I was born, but I watched it like once a year growing up. When the dog died, it always made me cry, as he was the most loveable character on the whole movie.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 3 September 2011 03:04 (A review of Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas)

A woman discovers the truth about her former lover from the diary that his first wife wrote to their son, Nicholas.

I love how the movie is shown from mostly Kate's point of view reading the diary that Suzanne had written. It's very cleverly written and a very heartbreaking tale.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

I Know My First Name Is Steven review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 3 September 2011 02:53 (A review of I Know My First Name Is Steven)

Ripped straight from the headlines! On December 4, 1972, seven-year-old Steven Stayner got into a car with a stranger who convinced the boy that he was his new dad. Steven was mentally and physically abused in the most horrifying ways. Seven long years later, Steven miraculously finds his way home. But his nightmare isn't over yet — not until his captor is brought to justice.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Woman with a Past review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 3 September 2011 02:06 (A review of Woman with a Past)

A woman lives a normal life with her second husband and her two sons of the first marriage. One day she is caught by her past and the film reveales in flashbacks her stations of life until the day the police found her in her new life: First marriage, alcohol addiction, robberies, prison, escape from prison, search for work, second marriage, fight for the children...

In the end she has not only to fight for her freedom but also for the respect and love of her betrayed children and husband.

A very well written movie. I love how it slowly tells the story of her past, like playing catch up with the rest of the family, so you only know as much as they do.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Revenge of the Bridesmaids review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 3 September 2011 02:04 (A review of Revenge of the Bridesmaids)

Raven-Symoné stars as Abigail Scanlon and JoAnna Garcia as Parker Wald, best friends since childhood returning to their small, Southern home town from New York City, for a visit.

After running into old friends they learn that their close friend, Rachel (Chryssie Whitehead), has lost the love of her life, Tony (Lyle Brocato), to their ex-friend Caitlin (Virginia Williams) -- a conniving gold-digger. Intent upon preventing the loveless marriage, Parker and Abigail go "undercover" as Caitlin's bridesmaids to sabotage the wedding.

Along the way, Caitlyn's tightly-wound mother, Olivia (Beth Broderick), works hard to keep Abigail and Parker at bay, and Parker falls for the town cop and groomsman Henry (David Rogers). The bridesmaids put their best-laid plans in motion only to see them go outrageously awry!

Great movie, very funny and great friendships between Abigail, Parker and Rachel.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Hachi: A Dog's Tale review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 3 September 2011 01:49 (A review of Hachi: A Dog's Tale)

Based on a true story from Japan, a moving film about loyalty and the rare, invincible bonds that occasionally form almost instantaneously in the most unlikely places.

'Richard Gere' plays a college professor, who forms a bond with an abandonned dog at a train station, who he takes home for the night, with no intention of keeping him. He just wants to return him to his owner, but he soon becomes quite attached, especially after no one claims the missing dog.

Hachiko becomes very attached to Parker Wilson too, waiting for him at the train station after work everyday, where he then walks with him back home.

When Parker suddenly dies while at work, Hachiko is still waiting at the train station for him to return, but he never does. It's a very sad story, as the poor dog doesn't understand that he's gone, so he continues to go back day after day, only making the audience feel even more sympathetic towards the dog, as each day his owner never returns.

A true story of faith, devotion and undying love.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

My Girl review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 3 September 2011 01:31 (A review of My Girl)

Vada Sultenfuss is obsessed with death. Her mother died during childbirth, and her father runs a funeral parlor. She is also in love with her English teacher, and joins a poetry class over the summer just to impress him. Thomas J, her best friend, is "allergic to everything", and sticks with Vada despite her hangups.

When Vada's father hires Shelly, a makeup expert, in his funeral parlor, and begins to fall in love with her, Vada is outraged by their sudden engagement, trying to find a way to split them up, but after a terrible tragedy, Vada realises that Shelly isn't so bad, as she's the only person she can really talk to.

The only film that can still make me cry. I love how it builds up the friendship between Vada and Thomas J throughout the movie. Their friendship is so adorable and sweet, right from the beginning.

The characters are very real and respond to things just as normal people would, unlike a lot of other movies.

Although it is a great movie, it turns into a very sad tale, making the auidence really feel what Vada is feeling.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mirrors review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 3 September 2011 12:14 (A review of Mirrors)

Pretty creepy movie, quite gory in places and leaves you wondering what will happen to Ben now that he's trapped in the mirror at the end, but it's a very good movie. Def worth watching!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Making Love review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 30 August 2011 11:16 (A review of Making Love)

The successful young L.A. doctor Zach and his equally successful television-producer wife Claire find their happily-ever-after life torn assunder when Zach suddenly confronts his long-repressed attraction for other men.

Amazing story of a closeted man's struggle to come out and find what he needs to make him happy.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block